Are soy lecithin supplementary products encapsulated in bovine gelatine permissible?

Soy Lecithin capsules

Question:

It is agreed that any soya extract to produce the lecithin is consider permissible as it is vegetable source. What about the supplement product from shaklee or biolife using bovine for the soft shell of the lecithin capsules. This item is extracted from bull or buffalo and could also be from Pork. Appreciate if could give your comment.

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Lecithin and its primary component, choline, are among many beneficial substances found in soybeans.  Research shows that lecithin may have numerous health benefits, including the maintenance of a healthy liver, a healthy heart and circulatory system, increasing physical performance, and successful pregnancy and child development.

There are two basic forms: soft gel capsules and granules.[1]

Majority of the soft gel capsules used for the Lecithin capsules are composed of bovine gelatine.  Bovine gelatine is sourced from collagen extracted from the bones, cartilage, connective tissue and skin of cattle.[2]   It is not permissible to consume bovine gelatine of unislamically slaughtered consumable animals.[3]

Hence, it is not permissible to take Soy Lecithin supplementary products with bovine gelatine capsules.  If a person wants to benefit from Lecithin, he may take the granules.  One should consult a doctor before commencing any medication or supplement. 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mufti Faraz ibn Adam al-Mahmudi
www.darulfiqh.com


[1] http://www.iwantmyvitamins.com/articles/what-is-lecithin.htm  (last accessed on 22/10/12)

[2] http://www.ochef.com/909.htm (last accessed on 01/11/12)

[3]  وَفِيهِ مَسْأَلَةُ جِلْدِ الْمَيْتَةِ بَعْدَ الدِّبَاغِ هَلْ يَجُوزُ أَكْلُهُ إذَا كَانَ جِلْدُ حَيَوَانٍ مَأْكُولِ اللَّحْمِ قَالَ بَعْضُهُمْ نَعَمْ؛ لِأَنَّهُ طَاهِرٌ كَجِلْدِ الشَّاةِ الْمُذَكَّاةِ وَقَالَ بَعْضُهُمْ: لَا يَجُوزُ أَكْلُهُ، وَهُوَ الصَّحِيحُ لِقَوْلِهِ تَعَالَى {حُرِّمَتْ عَلَيْكُمُ الْمَيْتَةُ} [المائدة: 3] ، وَهَذَا جُزْءٌ مِنْهَا «وَقَالَ – عَلَيْهِ السَّلَامُ – فِي شَاةِ مَيْمُونَةَ – رَضِيَ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى عَنْهَا – إنَّمَا يَحْرُمُ مِنْ الْمَيْتَةِ أَكْلُهَا مَعَ أَمْرِهِ لَهُمْ بِالدِّبَاغِ وَالِانْتِفَاعِ» ، وَأَمَّا إذَا كَانَ جِلْدُ مَا لَا يُؤْكَلُ كَالْحِمَارِ، فَإِنَّهُ لَا يَجُوزُ أَكْلُهُ إجْمَاعًا؛ لِأَنَّ الدِّبَاغَ فِيهِ لَيْسَ بِأَقْوَى مِنْ الذَّكَاةِ وَذَكَاتُهُ لَا تُبِيحُهُ فَكَذَا دِبَاغُهُ. اهـ. (البحر الرائق ج 1 ص 190 أيج أيم سعيد)

(وَأَمَّا) الَّذِي لَهُ دَمٌ سَائِلٌ فَلَا خِلَافَ فِي الْأَجْزَاءِ الَّتِي فِيهَا دَمٌ مِنْ اللَّحْمِ وَالشَّحْمِ وَالْجِلْدِ وَنَحْوِهَا أَنَّهَا نَجِسَةٌ؛ لِاحْتِبَاسِ الدَّمِ النَّجِسِ فِيهَا، وَهُوَ الدَّمُ الْمَسْفُوحُ.(بدائع الصنائع ج 1 ص 63 دار الكتب)

وبالجملة: كل شيء حرام، أو نجس، لا يجوز أكله، إلا عند الاضطرار. وإن كان ما أكَله، عند الاضطرار (الدرر المباحة للنحلاوي ص 30)

وَأَكْلُ النَّجِسِ لَا يَجُوزُ (بدائع الصنائع ج 1 ص 66 دار الكتب)

About the author:

. Follow him on Twitter / Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>