Are white wine vinegar and red wine vinegar halal?

white_wine_vinegar

Question:

Are the following halal? White wine vinegar and red wine vinegar?

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Vinegar originates from wine. It goes through a chemical process whereby it transforms into vinegar.  As a result, all the elements which render alcohol Haram are removed.[1]

Therefore, white wine vinegar and red wine vinegar are halāl for consumption.[2]

And Allah Ta’ālā Knows Best

Mufti Faraz
www.darulfiqh.com


[1] http://amazingfactsworld.com/how-is-vinegar-made

[2]  قَالَ: (وَخَلُّ الْخَمْرِ حَلَالٌ سَوَاءٌ تَخَلَّلَتْ أَوْ خُلِّلَتْ) لِقَوْلِهِ – صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ -: «نِعْمَ الْأُدُمُ الْخَلُّ» مُطْلَقًا، وَقَالَ – صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ -: «خَيْرُ خَلِّكُمً خَلُّ خَمْرِكُمْ» وَلِأَنَّ التَّخْلِيلَ يُزِيلُ الْوَصْفَ الْمُفْسِدَ وَيُثْبِتُ وَصْفَ الصَّلَاحِيَّةِ لِأَنَّ فِيهِ مَصْلَحَةَ قَمْعِ الصَّفْرَاءِ وَالتَّغَدِّي وَمَصَالِحَ كَثِيرَةً، وَإِذَا زَالَ الْمُفْسِدُ الْمُوجِبُ لِلْحُرْمَةِ حَلَّتْ كَمَا إِذَا تَخَلَّلَتْ بِنَفْسِهَا (الاختيار ج 4 ص 101-102 دار الكتب)

فتاوى محمودية ج 18 ص 179 إدارة الفاروق

About the author:

. Follow him on Twitter / Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>