• Home
  • About
    • About Us
    • Testimonials
    • The Team
  • Q&A
    • Worship
      • Purification
      • Salah
      • Zakat
      • Fasting
      • Hajj
      • Qurbani/Udhiyyah
      • Death & Burial
    • Commerce, Finance & Investment
      • Trade & Business
      • Jobs & Services
      • Investments
      • Schemes & Products
      • Islamic Finance & Banking
    • Nikah & Divorce
      • Nikah
      • Divorce
    • Social Issues
    • Medical Issues
    • Wills & Inheritance
    • Advice
  • Research & Essays
  • Articles
  • Contact Us
  • Nisab

chat
Darul Fiqh Darul Fiqh
Darul Fiqh Darul Fiqh
  • Home
  • About
    • About Us
    • Testimonials
    • The Team
  • Q&A
    • Worship
      • Purification
      • Salah
      • Zakat
      • Fasting
      • Hajj
      • Qurbani/Udhiyyah
      • Death & Burial
    • Commerce, Finance & Investment
      • Trade & Business
      • Jobs & Services
      • Investments
      • Schemes & Products
      • Islamic Finance & Banking
    • Nikah & Divorce
      • Nikah
      • Divorce
    • Social Issues
    • Medical Issues
    • Wills & Inheritance
    • Advice
  • Research & Essays
  • Articles
  • Contact Us
  • Nisab

Question:

I would like to ask whether Vanilla Extract is halal because I read that the vanilla pods are soaked in alcohol. Also a lot of cakes and biscuits have Natural Vanilla flavour written on the packs these days. Would you say this vanilla flavour is halal or haram?
One more question- what is the ruling on soy sauce used in Chinese dishes? The soya beans are fermented which could contain alcohol- is this true?

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. 

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh. 

Vanilla extract is a solution containing the flavour compound vanillin as the primary ingredient. Pure vanilla extract is made by macerating and percolating vanilla beans in a solution of ethyl alcohol and water.[1]

As ethyl alcohol can be produced from different fruits and grains, it is difficult to give a general ruling on vanilla extract until a specific product’s formulation is studied.

If the alcohol used in preparing soy sauce is derived from other than grapes, dates and raisins and it is not at a concentration which intoxicates, such soy sauce will be permissible to use.[2]

And Allah Ta’ālā Knows Best
Mufti Faraz Adam,
www.darulfiqh.com  


[1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanilla_extract (last accessed 11/03/13)

[2]  فَالْأَشْرِبَةُ الْمُتَّخَذَةُ مِنْ الْعِنَبِ (أَحَدُهَا الْخَمْرُ) وَهُوَ اسْمٌ لِلنِّيءِ مِنْ مَاءِ الْعِنَبِ بَعْدَ مَا غَلَى وَاشْتَدَّ وَقَذَفَ بِالزَّبَدِ وَسَكَنَ عَنْ الْغَلَيَانِ عِنْدَ أَبِي حَنِيفَةَ – رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى – وَعِنْدَهُمَا إذَا غَلَى وَاشْتَدَّ فَهُوَ خَمْرٌ وَإِنْ لَمْ يَقْذِفْ بِالزَّبَدِ (الهندية ج 5 ص 409 الرشيدية)

  (وَأَمَّا الْخَمْرُ فَلَهَا أَحْكَامٌ سِتَّةٌ:) أَحَدُهَا: أَنَّهُ يَحْرُمُ شُرْبُ قَلِيلِهَا وَكَثِيرِهَا، وَيَحْرُمُ الِانْتِفَاعُ بِهَا لِلتَّدَاوِي وَغَيْرِهِ. وَالثَّانِي: أَنَّهُ يَكْفُرُ جَاحِدُ حُرْمَتِهَا. وَالثَّالِثُ: أَنَّهُ يَحْرُمُ تَمْلِيكُهَا وَتَمَلُّكُهَا بِالْبَيْعِ وَالْهِبَةِ وَغَيْرِهِمَا مِمَّا لِلْعِبَادِ فِيهِ صُنْعٌ. وَالرَّابِعُ: أَنَّهُ قَدْ بَطَلَ تَقَوُّمُهَا حَتَّى لَا يَضْمَنَ مُتْلِفُهَا كَذَا فِي مُحِيطِ السَّرَخْسِيِّ وَاخْتَلَفُوا فِي سُقُوطِ مَالِيَّتِهَا وَالصَّحِيحُ: أَنَّهَا مَالٌ لِجَرَيَانِ الشُّحِّ وَالضِّنَةِ فِيهَا كَذَا فِي الْكَافِي. وَالْخَامِسُ: هِيَ نَجِسَةٌ غَلِيظَةٌ كَالْبَوْلِ وَالدَّمِ. وَالسَّادِسُ: يَجِبُ الْحَدُّ بِشُرْبِهَا قَلِيلِهَا وَكَثِيرِهَا وَيُبَاحُ تَخْلِيلُهَا كَذَا فِي مُحِيطِ السَّرَخْسِيِّ (الهندية ج 5 ص 412 الرشيدية)

 (وَأَمَّا مَا هُوَ حَرَامٌ عِنْدَ عَامَّةِ الْعُلَمَاءِ) فَهُوَ الْبَاذَقُ وَالْمُنَصَّفُ، وَنَقِيعُ الزَّبِيبِ، وَالتَّمْرُ مِنْ غَيْرِ طَبْخٍ وَالسَّكَرُ فَإِنَّهُ يَحْرُمُ شُرْبُ قَلِيلِهَا وَكَثِيرِهَا وَقَالَ أَصْحَابُ الظَّوَاهِرِ: بِأَنَّهُ مُبَاحٌ شُرْبُهُ وَالصَّحِيحُ قَوْلُ الْعَامَّةِ لَكِنَّ حُرْمَةَ هَذِهِ الْأَشْرِبَةِ دُونَ حُرْمَةِ الْخَمْرِ حَتَّى لَا يُحَدَّ شَارِبُهَا مَا لَمْ يَسْكَرْ كَذَا فِي مُحِيطِ السَّرَخْسِيِّ.(الهندية ج 5 ص 412 الرشيدية)

Total
0
Shares
Share 0
Tweet 0
Previous Article
  • Commerce, Finance & Investments
  • Q&A
  • Trade & Business

Is it permissible to repay a loan in a foreign currency?

  • August 2, 2021
Read More
Next Article
  • Q&A
  • Social Issues

Is it permissible to accept a gift from a Muslim who has unlawful earnings?

  • August 2, 2021
Read More
You May Also Find
Read More
  • Commerce, Finance & Investments
  • Fiqh
  • Q&A
  • Trade & Business

The Fiqh of Self-Checkout Machines

Read More
  • Q&A
  • Salah

Doubts in Salah

Read More
  • Q&A
  • Salah

Doing Adhaan from within the Masjid

Read More
  • Purification
  • Q&A

The Hanafi School’s approach to Wudhu with Nabidh al-Tamr in the Absence of Water

Read More
  • Q&A
  • Zakat

Is a Deposit for a House Purchase Deductible for Zakat Purposes?

Read More
  • Halal and Haram
  • Q&A

What is the ruling regarding E174?

Read More
  • Halal and Haram
  • Q&A

What is the ruling regarding consuming E175?

Read More
  • Halal and Haram
  • Q&A

What is the ruling regarding E1518?

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Recent Posts
  • The Fiqh of Self-Checkout Machines
    • November 27, 2025
  • Doubts in Salah
    • November 20, 2025
  • Doing Adhaan from within the Masjid
    • November 20, 2025
  • The Hanafi School’s approach to Wudhu with Nabidh al-Tamr in the Absence of Water
    • October 8, 2025
  • Is a Deposit for a House Purchase Deductible for Zakat Purposes?
    • May 18, 2025

Darul Fiqh is a Fatwa website providing Islamic answers to everyday Fiqh issues and questions.

Powered by

Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Follow Us

Input your search keywords and press Enter.