Table of Contents Hide
I have a skin problem especially in my face for many years. Finally the doctor gave a therapy called accutane. I found out there is gelatine as an ingredient. I was reading that gelatine after metamorphosis can be used. Can you tell me if Muslim countries have same problem with gelatine in the pills.
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
Accutane, also known as Isotretinoin is a vitamin A derivative, belonging to a class of medications called retinoids. Retinoids are usually used to treat skin problems. Accutane is used to treat severe types of acne where other medications with less potential side effects have failed to help. It helps to reduce sebum production and, in many cases, can produce remission of the acne condition.
Accutane contains a gelatine pill coating that contains glycerine. Gelatine has been considered harām according to the majority of scholars unless it is from a vegetarian (or halal-slaughtered) source.
The Fuqaha (jurists) state that it will only be permissible to use medication with harām ingredients when a sound doctor gives advice that this is the only medication which will be effective and there is no other alternative available. In your case, if you are advised by a doctor to use Accutane, it will be permissible to use it.
We make du῾ā’ Allah Ta’āla grants you a speedy recovery. Amīn.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam,
Student Darul Iftaa
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
ففي المحيط البرهاني
فإن الاستشفاء بالمحرم إنما لا يجوز إذا لم يعلم أن فيه شفاءً؛ أما إذا علم أن فيه شفاء، وليس له دواء آخر غيره فيجوز الاستشفاء به (ج 7 ص 82 إدارة القرآن)
وكذا في إمداد الأحكام ج 4 ص 319 مكتبة دار العلوم كراتشي