• Home
  • About
    • About Us
    • Testimonials
    • The Team
  • Q&A
    • Worship
      • Purification
      • Salah
      • Zakat
      • Fasting
      • Hajj
      • Qurbani/Udhiyyah
      • Death & Burial
    • Commerce, Finance & Investment
      • Trade & Business
      • Jobs & Services
      • Investments
      • Schemes & Products
      • Islamic Finance & Banking
    • Nikah & Divorce
      • Nikah
      • Divorce
    • Social Issues
    • Medical Issues
    • Wills & Inheritance
    • Advice
  • Research & Essays
  • Articles
  • Contact Us
  • Nisab

chat
Darul Fiqh Darul Fiqh
Darul Fiqh Darul Fiqh
  • Home
  • About
    • About Us
    • Testimonials
    • The Team
  • Q&A
    • Worship
      • Purification
      • Salah
      • Zakat
      • Fasting
      • Hajj
      • Qurbani/Udhiyyah
      • Death & Burial
    • Commerce, Finance & Investment
      • Trade & Business
      • Jobs & Services
      • Investments
      • Schemes & Products
      • Islamic Finance & Banking
    • Nikah & Divorce
      • Nikah
      • Divorce
    • Social Issues
    • Medical Issues
    • Wills & Inheritance
    • Advice
  • Research & Essays
  • Articles
  • Contact Us
  • Nisab

Question:

Is wine vinegar Halal?

The Fatwa

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

The Answer

Wine vinegar is permissible to consume.

The Fiqh of the Answer

Wine vinegar is a type of vinegar made from the fermentation of wine. During this process, the ethanol (alcohol) in the wine is converted into acetic acid by acetic acid bacteria, giving the vinegar its characteristic sharp, tangy flavour. This process is known as acetification. The quality and flavour of wine vinegar are influenced by the type of wine used—whether red, white, or rosé—and its aging process. Red wine vinegar, for example, tends to have a more robust flavour, while white wine vinegar is typically lighter and more delicate. Both types are commonly used in cooking, especially in dressings, marinades, and sauces.

Imam al-Qudūrī (d.428 AH) states that the transformation of wine into vinegar is valid according to all of our Imams, and that when the wine becomes vinegar, it becomes pure.[i] Imam Ibn al-Humām (d.861 AH) states that the Imams are unanimous on the Istiḥālah of alcohol into vinegar through acetification. Imam al-Sarakhsī (d. 483 AH) affirms that acetification of alcohol and its transformation into vinegar is deemed acceptable and valid according to the Imams of the Madhhab.[ii].

Imam al-Qudūrī (d.428 AH) articulates an Aṣl (principle), that one cannot use or benefit from actual Najāsah, like blood and wine.[iii] Hence, Ibn Māzah al-Bukhārī (d.616 AH) states that it is not permissible to use and benefit from something which is Najis al-ʿayn, such as a swine and all its parts.[iv]

The three Imams of the Madhhab are in unanimous agreement that wine becomes purified when it transforms into vinegar. This is based on a Naṣ, as cited by Imam al-Qudūrī (d.428 AH).[v] The transformation of wine into vinegar is known as Istiḥālah, during which the impurity is removed (Izālah). As a result, the wine, which was once impure, is rendered pure through this process, making the vinegar permissible for consumption.

And Almighty Allah Alone Knows Best

Maulana Inaamul Hasan Chothia
Trainee Mufti

Reviewed and approved by
Mufti Faraz Adam

Darul Iftaa Muadh ibn Jabal
www.darulfiqh.com

 

DISCLAIMER:

The views and opinions expressed in this answer belong only to the author and do not in any way represent or reflect the views of any institutions to which he may be affiliated.

Arguments and ideas propounded in this answer are based on the juristic interpretations and reasoning of the author. Given that contemporary issues and interpretations of contemporary issues are subjective in nature, another Mufti may reach different conclusions to the one expressed by the author. Whilst every effort has been taken to ensure total accuracy and soundness from a Shari’ah perspective, the author is open to any correction or juristic guidance. On the event of any juristic shortcomings, the author will retract any or all of the conclusions expressed within this answer.

The Shari’ah ruling given herein is based specifically on the scenario in question.  The author bears no responsibility towards any party that acts or does not act on this answer and is exempted from any and all forms of loss or damage.  This answer may not be used as evidence in any court of law without prior written consent from the author.  Consideration is only given and is restricted to the specific links provided, the author does not endorse nor approve of any other content the website may contain.

[i] قال أصحابنا: ِفي جواز التخليل للخمر جائز، وإذا خللها طهرت. ( التجريد)

[ii] واصل المسألة ان تخليل الخمر بالعلاج جائز عندنا، وتحل تناول الخل بعد التحليل(المبسوط)

[iii] ولو كان كأعيان النجاسات لم يجز الانتفاع به بحال، كالدم والخمر. (التجريد)

[iv] وإنما لم يجز الانتفاع بعظم الخنزير والآدمي؛ أما الخنزير فلأنه نجس العين بجميع أجزائه، والانتفاع بالنجس حرام، وأما الآدمي فقد قال بعض مشايخنا: إنه لم يجز الانتفاع بأجزائه لنجاسته، وقال بعضهم: لم يجز الانتفاع به لكرامته وهو الصحيح، فإن الله تعالى كرم بني آدم وفضلهم على سائر الأشياء، وفي الانتفاع بأجزائه نوع إهانة به. (المحيط)

[v] ١٣٨١٧ – لنا في جواز التخليل: قوله تعالى: ﴿ ومن ثمرات النخيل والأعناب تتخذون منه سكرا ورزقا حسنا.﴾

قال ابن عباس: (الرزق الحسن الخل)، ولم يفصل، فدلت الآية على إباحة التخليل وإباحة خل الخمر بكل حال.

١٣٨١٨ – فإن قيل: إنما أباح الله تعالى الخل المتخذ من الثمار، وذلك مباح، والخلاف في الخل المتخذ من الخمر تتخذ من الثمار، لأنه يصير أولا خمرا فيعالج حتى يصير خلا. وفي حديث ميمونة أن النبي ﷺ قال في جلد الميتة: (الدباغ يحللها كما تخلل الخمر فيحل)، وذكر الدارقطني (كما يحل الخل الخمر).

١٣٨١٩ – قالوا: اجمعنا على ترك ظاهره، لان الخل لا يحلها، وإنما تحل باستحالتها.

١٣٨٢٠ – قلنا: فإذا الخل حللها، لأنها لما استحالت إليه حلت، ولو استحالت إلى غيره لم تحل

Total
0
Shares
Share 0
Tweet 0
Previous Article
  • Hajj
  • Q&A

Is Umrah Compulsory by a Transit Through Jeddah?

  • September 8, 2024
Read More
Next Article
  • Halal and Haram
  • Q&A

What is the ruling regarding tofu?

  • September 8, 2024
Read More
You May Also Find
Read More
  • Commerce, Finance & Investments
  • Fiqh
  • Q&A
  • Trade & Business

The Fiqh of Self-Checkout Machines

Read More
  • Q&A
  • Salah

Doubts in Salah

Read More
  • Q&A
  • Salah

Doing Adhaan from within the Masjid

Read More
  • Purification
  • Q&A

The Hanafi School’s approach to Wudhu with Nabidh al-Tamr in the Absence of Water

Read More
  • Q&A
  • Zakat

Is a Deposit for a House Purchase Deductible for Zakat Purposes?

Read More
  • Halal and Haram
  • Q&A

What is the ruling regarding E174?

Read More
  • Halal and Haram
  • Q&A

What is the ruling regarding consuming E175?

Read More
  • Halal and Haram
  • Q&A

What is the ruling regarding E1518?

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Recent Posts
  • The Fiqh of Self-Checkout Machines
    • November 27, 2025
  • Doubts in Salah
    • November 20, 2025
  • Doing Adhaan from within the Masjid
    • November 20, 2025
  • The Hanafi School’s approach to Wudhu with Nabidh al-Tamr in the Absence of Water
    • October 8, 2025
  • Is a Deposit for a House Purchase Deductible for Zakat Purposes?
    • May 18, 2025

Darul Fiqh is a Fatwa website providing Islamic answers to everyday Fiqh issues and questions.

Powered by

Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Follow Us

Input your search keywords and press Enter.